This online publication is the result of an ongoing investigation into the theme of festival sustainability. The initiative was started in 2014 as part of the 11th edition of The HTMlles, feminist festival of media arts + digital culture in Montreal, produced by Studio XX. For more information please see the introductory article: What Drives Us?



Authors: Anthi Argyriou, Oliver Baurhenn, Michelle Lacombe, Sophie Le-Phat Ho & Katja Melzer, Paulina Márquez, Andrew Gryf Paterson, Jenny Pickett & Julien Ottavi, Maja Šorli, and Hajnal Szolga
Editor: Sophie Le-Phat Ho
Copyeditor: Corina MacDonald
Web Design: Erandy Vergara
Project Coordination: Katja Melzer; with support by Julia Ovcharenko, Christine Rahn, and Hajnal Szolga


The project was made possible due to the generous support of the following organizations:



Canada Council for the Arts

Studio XX

TMA Trans-Media-Akademie Hellerau

Action Field Kodra


Association for the Promotion of Women in Culture – City of Women


Piknik Frequency ry


We would like to thank everyone who participated in the project so far:

Participants at What Drives Us?: Forum on Festival Sustainability #1
November 14-15, 2014, The HTMlles, Montreal

Tatiana Bazzichelli – Initiator/Developer of “reSource transmedial culture berlin” by transmediale (Berlin)
Pascal Beauchesne – Printemps numérique/Conférence régionale des élus (CRÉ, Montréal)
Michelle Lacombe – VIVA! Art Action (Montréal)
Sophie Le-Phat Ho & Katja Melzer – The HTMlles (Montréal)
Jenny Lin & kimura byol – Qouleur (Montréal)
Audrey Powell – MUTEK (Montréal)
Jenny Pickett & Julien Ottavi – Electropixel (Nantes)
Andrea Joy Rideout – Edgy Women/Redux (Montréal)
Alain Thibault – Elektra (Montréal)


Participants at What Drives Us?: Forum on Festival Sustainability #2
November 13-14, 2015, CYNETART, Dresden

Anthi Argyriou – Action Field Kodra (Thessaloniki)
Oliver Baurhenn – CTM – Festival for Adventurous Music and Art (Berlin)
Thomas Dumke – CYNETART (Dresden)
Paulina Marquez – independent (Brussels)
Katja Melzer – The HTMlles (Montréal)
Julia Ovcharenko – Festival Construction (Dnipropetrovsk)
Andrew Gryf Paterson – Pixelache (Helsinki)
Jenny Pickett – Electropixel (Nantes)
Christine Rahn – independent (Berlin)
Teja Reba – City of Women (Ljubljana)
Hajnal Szolga – independent (Berlin)
Erandy Vergara – The HTMlles (Montréal)